The Best of Paris Fashion Week: AW15

Last week saw the very somber (je plaisante) Paris Fashion Week. Whilst I was unfortunately note able to attend (= invited) I make it a point of watching as many of the shows via style.com or Dazedigital.com to see what some of my favourite designers had in mind for next winter! I find it also important to take note of the colour and print trends, silhouettes, textiles and styling (what’s with the crazy make-up?!) Fashion Weeks, especially LFW and PFW are a feast for the creative eye. Indulgence galore, mmm.

Here are a selection of my favourite runway shows from Paris Fashion Week:

1114959 1114956 1114946

Futuristic, textural, organic and Pleats-please-meets-The-Fifth-Element, Dutch fashion designer Iris van Herpen did not disappoint with her powerful and other-planetary collection; She is truly pushing the boundaries for 21st century fashion and this was certainly my favourite collection by far. This just excites me.

057-valentino tumblr_nl286vArZj1qbx9pro1_500 1114881

Valentino’s striking boho-luxe AW15 collection oozed opulence and elegance; let’s not forget the very memorable finale of Ben Affleck walking the runway doing his best Derek Zoolander impression! While it contradicted the serious collection, it was a phenomenal collection, so we’ll forgive them 😉

balmain-12 balmain-43 MON0255a

Short, shorter, shortest. Balmain was all about flouncy skirts in dense but luxurious fabrics, bright colour combinations of oranges and purples (very Prada circa 2012) and short lengths! Whilst I found the collection a bit superficial and predictable, I commend them on their choice of fabrications. Plus, if this collection was anything to go by I’ll be able to get out my extra thick stockings next Autumn/winter (!)

miyake 1113862

Dear Issey, you never cease to amaze me with your innovative textiles, your outstanding silhouettes and your beautiful colour combinations… There was something so intelligent and clever (as usual) about Miyake’s AW15 collection. I loved the finale of the models twirling in their kaleidoscope skirts. It made me feel like a child again (a child that has really good fashion sense)

002-alexander-mcqueen-683x1024 003-alexander-mcqueen-683x1024 027-alexander-mcqueen-683x1024

Sorbet nudes combined with textured blacks and muted reds, gothic styles blended with just the right amount of lace and pleated fabric, Sarah showed she definitely has her work cut out for her with this darkly romantic collection. The Victorian hair and ‘English rose’ make-up was suited for these beautifully dramatic garments – *claps hands*

Paris certainly earned it’s title of the crème de la crème of fashion weeks!

x Zoe

The Best of Paris Fashion Week: AW15

Leave a comment